Can you help me get to ACRS 2014?

The Australian Coral Reef Society (ACRS) is the holding the 88th annual meeting on X, taking place in Y from (dates).  This will be my first year attending the meeting, and I’m really excited to be meeting a lot of folks that I’ve come to know through, academic papers, media, and as well, the blogosphere and Twitter.

Here’s the catch: as a graduate student, I typically have access to travel fund through my university, my department, or the grant that’s funded my dissertation research.  Unfortunately, I’m ineligible for university funding because I’m not technically “presenting” research funding.  I think the fact that I don’t have any results –because I’m a first year student- to present shouldn’t exclude me from this great networking experience. That means I have to make it to ACRS14 on a graduate student budget the first year, and I need a little help.

Here’s why it’s important to me to participate. As a publicly-funded scientist, I strongly believe that I have a responsibility to communicate my research with the public (that’s one of the reasons I started tweeting and blogging). I’ve the better half of my career learning many valuable skills, but communication skills aren’t typically included in a scientist’s toolbox.  Also, we know that scientists engaging with the public is an important part of increasing public science literacy, as well as diversity within the STEM (science, technology, engineering & math) fields.

At ACRS14, I’ll not only be learning how to be a better scientist, but I’ll also be part communicating through my blog and Twitter handle under #ACRS14 because I believe this sort of communication will shape what science communication looks like in the future. 

I’ve already registered for ACRS14, and my goal is to crowd-fund $600 for my travel expenses. If you would like to make a contribution, I’ve come up with three options:

1) Contribute a donation through my RocketHub where you can read more about my research.

2) Send a donation via Paypal to moldach@ucalgary.ca (as I am not a non-profit, I can’t have a donation button)

3) You can send a donation via the postal service to my work address: 2500 University Dr. NW, Calgary, AB, Canada T2N 1N4

Leave a Reply

